Thoughts on how to create a well-designed garden retreat.

Visitors


When you build a garden over time, sometimes it seems that things are moving slow.  Yesterday, I had visitors who had seen the garden a couple of years ago but had not recently.  It was great to hear their excitement over how much it has come along.  It gave me a renewed perspective on the garden and the work that has gone into it.  I have a vision for where I want it to be and I know it’s not there yet.  Visitors don’t know the vision that’s in your head, they see the beauty that’s already there.  Now I do appreciate the garden as it is.  But sometimes in looking at the vision of where I want it to be leaves a feeling that there is a lot to be desired.  Not true.  I need to remind myself of that more often.

These visitors were unscheduled.  they just happened to show up while I was working in the garden.  I was working in the garden because I do have scheduled visitors coming this week.  This give impetus to doing some work that I had been putting off until the time was “just right”.  This is a good thing.  Sometimes in weeding and pruning, the developments of the garden get put on hold.  This is another part of human nature.  We put off things until we feel we have to get them done.  We need deadlines to make things happen.

Unscheduled visitors can help you to appreciate the garden as it is.  Scheduled visitors can motivate you to make new changes that you had been putting off.  Schedule visits to your garden regularly and let that motivate you to do the things you’ve put off.  You will find that the garden develops quicker and you will be happy showing it off any time someone just shows up.

One response

  1. I see a lot of interesting content here, i know writing articles is
    time consuming, but i know unlimited source of content for your site , just search in google –
    rewriter creates an unique article in a minute

    November 22, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Leave a comment