Thoughts on how to create a well-designed garden retreat.

Redbuds


Redbud trees are usually the first blooming trees people notice in the spring.  They bloom just before the dogwoods and often the end of their bloom overlaps the start of the dogwood bloom.  They are understory trees and usually are most noticeable along the edges of woods.  This tells you a lot about where they are happiest to grow.  However, people do grow them out in full sun.

Jaliya’s Memorial Garden has 6 different cultivars of redbud.  The most common variety is the Forest Pansy Redbud.  This redbud grows to a typical redbud size but the leaves start out as a Reddish/Purple color.  They will keep the purple color for a while into the season before turning a dark green.

Forest Pansy Redbud with new leaves.

Their is a new purple leaved Redbud called Merlot.  It is said to hold the purple leaf color longer into the season.

Another Redbud in the Garden is Called Hearts of Gold.  The leaves on this plant start out a yellow color and stay light green all season.  This helps the plant to stand out in the shade or with a dark background.

Hearts of Gold Redbud

Another Redbud in the garden is Floating Clouds Redbud.  This redbud has leaves that are variegated with white.

Floating Clouds Redbud

There is another White variegated leafed redbud called Silver Clouds.

Another Redbud in the garden is the Rising Sun Redbud.  I have had this one less than a year.  The leaves on it come out yellow and even orange in the spring.  I am told it will hold these colors all season.

Rising Sun Redbud

I have two weeping Redbuds in the Garden.  The first is a weeping redbud with the typical green leaves.  The second is called Ruby Falls.  It has purple leaves like the Forest Pansy or Merlot.

Green Weeping Redbud

A very young Ruby Falls Redbud

All of these Redbuds have the reddish purple flowers.  There is a redbud with white flowers.  There are also cultivars of Redbud from the texas subspecies of Redbud that have shinier leaves than their eastern counterparts.

So choose one or more redbuds for early spring  flower color.  The flowers may only last a couple of weeks but with the new cultivars out there you can have more seasonal interest than just flowers.

4 responses

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for inexperienced blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    June 28, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    • Thank you so much. No real recommendations. I have let the blog slip for a while now. I usually just wrote about what ever seemed to be of interest at the time. I need to get back to regularly posting though.

      July 28, 2013 at 10:51 am

  2. Greetings I am so delighted I found your web site, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thank
    you for a remarkable post and a all round entertaining blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I
    have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great work.

    July 22, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    • Thank you. I have let the blog go for a while now and your comments may encourage me to return to doing it. Seems like there is never enough time in the day.

      July 28, 2013 at 10:49 am

Leave a Reply

