Thoughts on how to create a well-designed garden retreat.

New Year New start


So I haven’t posted on here in quite a while.  2011 got very busy for me and a lot of progress was made on Jaliya’s garden as well as the plantings around the house.  I hired a landscape architect to help with my business as I found I didn’t have enough time to keep up with all the design work myself.  He is a plant nut like myself.  It’s like living with your crack dealer.  He showed me new plants for me to try as well as new sources for plants I had been looking for.  Needless to say, I spent a lot of money on plants last year and Jaliya’s garden is filling up.  I found a source for native azaleas here in North Carolina and added several species to the garden.  I also purchased the new Hamamelis ovalis which was a new species discovered just a few years ago.  Other witch hazels I discovered were Hamamelis purpurea which has purple flowers and is blooming now.  Another is Hamamelis vervalis Lombart’s Weeping which of course is a weeping witch hazel.

I’ve also added Physocarpus ‘Little Devil’ which is a smaller version of the more well known Physocarpus ‘Diablo’.  The Diablo has done very well for me so having a smaller version was a no-brainer.  I think I may actually like it better.  I will write a post about it with pictures when it blooms later this year.  Another new purchase is Diervilla sessilifolia ‘Cool Splash’  This is a rare native plant to start with but this variety is variegated.  It held it’s leaves late into the season, and in fact still has a good many of it’s leaves now in the middle of January.  More posts will follow through out the year as plants reach their prime season.

Leave a Reply

